I was born in Tulln (Austria) in 1980. Growing up in a very musical family, I first came in touch with music in 1990, when I started to learn trumpet at the local music school. Drummer Bernie Grill, who was a schoolmate of mine, inspired me to switch to bass in 1995. My first teacher was Albert Kreuzer. During the following years I started practising intensively and rehearsed a lot with my first bands. In 1997 as well as in 1998 I received the first prize in the category bass from the Union of music schools of Lower Austria. Additionally, I took part in a lot of courses and workshops.
Right after my graduation in fall 1998, I passed the entrance exam at the conservatory of Vienna. There I was taught by Uli Langthaler. I also started to put more emphasis on the upright bass. The next summer I took part in the summer program at the bass collective in New York City. Around that time I started getting busy playing local gigs and building up contacts in the Austrian music scene.

In my early twens my presence in the Austrian live- as well as studioscene increased constantly. In June 2004 I made my diploma at the conservatory with honors. In 2003 I joined Tyler, which became my main occupation up to 2011, when the band split. Still, I stayed busy working as a freelancer with other bands during that period of time. In 2011, Tyler split. Still, we didn't stop working together, since we met youngster Julian Heidrich (now better known as Julian le Play) around the same time. We became his band and have been busy in the studio and live ever since. Check out credits to find out who I've been working with so far.

Live:

Julian le Play, Marina & The Kats, Tyler, Conchita, Loretta Who, Albin Janoska, Roisin Murphy, Vera Böhnisch, Valerie, Meena Cryle, Anna F, Waldeck, Heller Propeller, Hans im Glück, Joni Madden, Boris Bukowski, Drechsler, Ganes, Mo, Haddaway, Monika Ballwein, Milan Polak, Drew Sarich, Mat Schuh, Lidia Baich, Rounder Girls, Sandra Pires, Superfly Radio Orchestra, Shortpeople, Millions Of Dreads, Beat 4 Feet, Hubert Tubbs, 'Big John' Whitfield...

Studio:

Julian le Play, Tyler, Loretta Who, Valerie, Mo, Violetta Parisini, Elija, Monoklaes, Milan Polak, Flo Holoubek, Heller Propeller, Virginia Ernst, Aleksey Igudesman, Cindy Gomez, Nadine Beiler, Eva K. Anderson, Schmidhammer, Vera Böhnisch, Lidia Baich, Verena Pötzl, Opien (Niko Stössl), Erwin Kiennast, Horst Chmela, Mario Pecoraro, Rising Girl, Lukas Perman, Aschenputtel, Drew Sarich, 3 Feet Smaller...

Ich wurde 1980 in Tulln geboren. In einer musikalischen Familie aufgewachsen, begann ich 1990 auf der Musikschule Tulln Trompete zu lernen. 1995 inspirierte mich mein damaliger Schulkollege, der Schlagzeuger Bernie Grill dazu, den Bass in die Hand zu nehmen. Mein erster Lehrer war Albert Kreuzer, der mich erfolgreich mit dem Bassfieber anstecken konnte. 1997 und 1998 erhielt ich vom Niederrösterreichischen Musikschulwerk jeweils den ersten Preis in der Kategorie Bass. Direkt nach meiner Matura bestand ich im Herbst 1998 die Aufnahmeprüfung aufs Konservatorium der Stadt Wien. Dort wurde ich von Uli Langthaler unterrichtet, vermehrt am Kontrabass. Im Sommer 2000 nahm ich am Summer Program des Bass Collective in New York City teil. Etwa zu dieser Zeit begann ich, vermehrt Kontakte in der österreichischen Musikszene zu knüpfen und konnte immer besser von der Musik leben.

In meinen frühen Twens stieg meine Tätigkeit als Bassist in der Live- als auch Studioszene stetig an. Im Juni 2004 habe ich meine Diplomprüfung am Konservatorium mit Auszeichnung absolviert. 2003 stieß ich zu Tyler, die Rockband die bis 2011 mein Hauptbetätigungsfeld bleiben sollte. Bei Tyler wurde kreativ auf hohem Niveau gearbeitet und durch intensive Live- und Studioarbeit konnten wir in unserem Genre immer besser werden. Ich blieb in dieser Zeit trotzdem auch für andere Bands als Freelancer tätig. 2011 trennte sich Tyler zwar, jedoch endete unsere Zusammenarbeit nicht, da wir in dieser Zeit auf den jungen Sänger Julian Heidrich (mittlerweile besser bekannt als Julian le Play) stießen. Wir wurden seine Band und sind seither im Studio als auch Live viel mit ihm unterwegs. Unter credits ist ein Auszug der Künstler nachzulesen, mit denen ich bisher gearbeitet habe.

Live:

Julian le Play, Marina & The Kats, Tyler, Conchita, Loretta Who, Albin Janoska, Roisin Murphy, Vera Böhnisch, Valerie, Meena Cryle, Anna F, Waldeck, Heller Propeller, Hans im Glück, Joni Madden, Boris Bukowski, Drechsler, Ganes, Mo, Haddaway, Monika Ballwein, Milan Polak, Drew Sarich, Mat Schuh, Lidia Baich, Rounder Girls, Sandra Pires, Superfly Radio Orchestra, Shortpeople, Millions Of Dreads, Beat 4 Feet, Hubert Tubbs, 'Big John' Whitfield...

Studio:

Julian le Play, Marina & The Kats, Tyler, Loretta Who, Valerie, Mo, Violetta Parisini, Elija, Milan Polak, Flo Holoubek, Heller Propeller, Virginia Ernst, Aleksey Igudesman, Cindy Gomez, Nadine Beiler, Eva K. Anderson, Schmidhammer, Vera Böhnisch, Lidia Baich, Verena Pötzl, Opien (Niko Stössl), Erwin Kiennast, Horst Chmela, Mario Pecoraro, Rising Girl, Lukas Perman, Drew Sarich, 3 Feet Smaller...